The Nashville Acoustic Sessions
(cmh records)
You may know the name Raul Malo from his time fronting The Mavericks or his work with Los Super Seven, but this album moves in a different direction altogether. Teaming up with Dave Pomeroy (bass), Rob Ickes (dobro), and Pat Flynn (guitar), smooth-vocaled Malo and company have compiled 11 covers of songs by Roy Orbison (“Blue Bayou”), Van Morrison (“Bright Side of the Road”), Bob Dylan (“You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go”), and a brilliant rendition of Hank Williams’ “Weary Blues from Waiting.”