World Cup Primer

Sixty-four matches total. In the initial group stage, eight groups of four teams each compete to move on to the single-elimination round of 16. Quarters, semis, and finals to follow.

From June 9 through July 9

Germany. The opener is in Munich and the final is in Berlin. The other 62 matches are divided between these and the other 10 host cities: Hamburg, Hanover, Gelsenkirchen, Dortmund, Cologne, Frankfurt, Kaiserslautern, Nuremberg, Stuttgart, and Leipzig.

Who Plays:
Thirty-two teams from six continents, divided into eight groups

Group A: Germany, Costa Rica, Poland, Ecuador
Group B: England, Paraguay, Trinidad and Tobago, Sweden
Group C: Argentina, Cote d'Ivoire, Serbia and Montenegro, Netherlands
Group D: Mexico, Iran, Angola, Portugal
Group E: Italy, Ghana, USA, Czech Republic
Group F: Brazil, Croatia, Australia, Japan
Group G: France, Switzerland, Korea Republic, Togo
Group H: Spain, Ukraine, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia

Also up for grabs:
Golden Shoe (awarded to the leading goal scorer); Golden Ball(awarded to the most outstanding player); Best Young Player(awarded to the most outstanding player who was born on or after January 1, 1985)

Bookmark These Sites


German National Tourist Board:

Travel packages:,

Hostel and budget-hotel information:

Lodging and tourism:


Hiking information:

Germany Tourism:

The Romantic Road:

Soccer bars and football pubs: